Blog Haul: Pampering Trip to Target

Target Haul

For the last few weeks I have been wanting to treat myself to a nice little “treat” from Sephora. My mom got me a giftcard to Sephora back in February for my birthday. I tried to use it right away, but unfortunately I messed something up and ended up just charging everything to my debit card. I don’t buy from Sephora that frequently, so it’s just kind of been laying in wait since then.

This past Friday was my “half-birthday” and it got me thinking that I really should use it. I had been toying on the website for a while. I wanted something kind of luxurious, but still something that I trusted wouldn’t be gimmicky. I ended up ordering a Philosophy Kit with face wash, lotion, and a peel in it. I posted the picture on twitter really excited about my purchase. The kit was a tremendous value, and even better was the fact I’d used a gift card for part of it.

One of my best friends, who unfortunately I’ve never actually met, tweeted me back saying how crazy it was because she had just gotten a similar kit (although hers was from QVC) featuring several of the same products. She snapped a picture on her instagram. In her instragram post she showed these cool little bath gloves that she uses with her face wash and body wash and suggested I try them. I was itching to see the real world (as someone who spends most of their day in a cube sometimes does); so I decided to run out to Target on my lunch break.

Alas, I let myself do a little pampering. Nothing I got on its’ own was that exciting, but overall when I left I was pretty excited to take a shower that night. As you can see in the picture above I did end up getting the bath gloves and I LOVE them. Now, keep in mind, they are not exactly comforting, they are going to exfoliate your skin, but I loved the results. I don’t think my legs have felt that smooth in ages!

I also picked up some new razors I purchase the Bic Soleil. There is nothing super fantastic about these razors, but I am too cheap to splurge on the Venus razors, and these work just well enough for me that I keep buying them.

My body wash had been doing that thing where there is a good week’s worth of body wash left, but you can’t get to it. So I decided to try something new out. I grabbed the Olay Nourishing Body Wash in Soothing Cucumber. I used to use the Bath and Body Works Body Washes because I loved the scents (my favorite that they ever released was probably Dark Kiss) but the body washes always made me feel kind of dry and like my skin was tight, so I have had to leave those behind. I love this body wash. It definitely makes me skin feel moisturized. I can’t speak as to whether it is the exfoliating gloves, or this body wash, but the combination really has my skin feeling good. I also love the scent. That cucumber scent always just makes me feel fresh and clean. (So fresh and so clean, clean).

The last few things were more of my ‘splurge’ items. I grabbed a Dr. Teal’s lavender Epson salt bag (not pictured above), the Ponds Evening Sooth Facial Towelettes, and the August edition of “Self” Magazine. I’ve actually used the Ponds Facial Towelettes before, but it had been years since I’d last used them. I really like these for wiping off my face makeup after a workout at the gym. They have a really nice light lavender scent to them, and they just get rid of that skuzzy feeling on your face after the gym. I haven’t been wearing too much makeup lately, and half of what I have worn ends up on the towels at the gym. That being said, they do seem to do a good job at getting off what is left.

I picked up the Epson salts because I’ve been looking for more ways to relax in my life. The other day I saw both Nikki Phillippi and Rachel Talbott (who I mentioned in another post you can read here) talk about using them in one of their daily vlogs so I thought I’d give it a try. I decided on the lavender scent because it was the essential oil we received in yoga on Monday and she is right, the scent is the ultimate in evoking a sense of relaxation. I’ve taken two Epson salt baths (reading the August “Self” magazine) and I have to say, they really did relax me. I’ll do more research on the Epson Salt baths, and do another post in the future if people are interested. I am all about finding happy moments in a busy life.

All in all, I spent about $28 dollars at Target (since when are magazines four dollars?!) and I really think it was all worth it. I don’t get the opportunity to pick up lots of little treats for myself like this often, so I thought I would share. I will do another post when my Sephora order comes in. What are your favorite pampering products? Do you have any suggestions for me? Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

