My Happiness Project

I’ve made mention in a few posts that I am working of letting go of anger, anxiety, and depression (feelings I feel like I’m naturally inclined towards) in an effort to create a happy life. I have heard so many maxims saying things like, “You are in charge of your own happiness”, or ,”Happiness isn’t a moment in time, it’s a state of mind.” I never really thought much of them until I realized a few months ago that I simply was not happy. I don’t know that “unhappy” was the word, but happy was something I didn’t feel.

The week we came back from vacation I said, “That is ENOUGH!” I was done with the feelings of constant stress/anxiety. I spent half of our vacation wandering around our beach house because I simply didn’t know what to do with myself, I felt like I needed to entertain someone, or be in a certain room, and like I owed other people things at the expense of my own happiness. And it simply was not that serious.

When I got home from vacation I started taking ten minutes a day to write down goals for the day and to write down good, or simply positive things that happened. I tried to write down everything. If I put the dishes away before work, I wrote that down. It might seem silly but putting those dishes away was something that I accomplished, and it is nice to not come home to a chore, so it went down on the list. The goals were things like, “Go to Pilates” or “Start One Load of Laundry”. Honesty- the goals were normally small things that I could accomplish that would make me feel good about myself. In some ways, it has kept me accountable for my exercising too.

Another thing that I have started to do it taking yoga and pilates classes (in addition to spinning and running). I have always been interested in yoga, but my gym didn’t offer it. I had ignored classes like Pilates and Yoga before because they weren’t “calorie burners” When I got home from vacation though, I told myself, if I am going to the gym 4 or 5 days a week, versus once or twice when I was only running, who cares if I do Pilates and Yoga?

I think Yoga has really “calmed” me. Sometimes I just need someone to tell me, just breath. The class is a vinyasa flow, so it’s pretty easy on me, and I am able to take it at 6:30 on Monday nights. I am able to go into the rest of the week just feeling at peace.

I am still a major work in progress. I have a lot of work to do towards becoming truly happy and at peace with my life, but I am working on it, and that is a huge step. Some days (especially weekends) I have trouble remembering to write down happy/positive things in my journal. But on Monday morning, I don’t say, “Screw it I haven’t written anything down in 2 days.”, I do it anyway.

Do you have any recommendations for my happiness project? Any books you can recommend (I do want to read “The Happiness Project”)? Any activities you can suggest? Any mantras or quotes that might help me? What about other blogs? Any advice here would be great!

5 thoughts on “My Happiness Project

  1. you haven’t got a follow by email box on your site, so i can sign on as a follower šŸ˜¦
    hopefully you will add the follow me widget soon.

    • Woo!!! Thanks for the interest! It’s on a little side bar now. Just hover in the left side of my blog where 3 little light orange lines are and my side bar shows up. I’m going to work more on my layout this weekend- and then hopefully it should be easier!! Thanks for the feedback and suggestion!!!!! :o)

  2. Glad to be able to follow your happiness project now. i too am on the happpiness journey too. hope you come on over and have a look at mind too- nothing like sharing the happiness šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

