The Great Tootsie Pop Mystery

On the 4th of July hubby and I decided to go out to the store to get some more soda because we were running low. The parking lot was deserted and I made a comment along the lines of, “We should totally just do our grocery shopping right now.” Hubby agreed. I hate grocery shopping, with a passion, and if we can get it out of the way and I stay somewhat happy during it, it’s a win.

Since our wedding last fall I’ve developed some less than ideal eating habits. so when we got to the candy aisle I decided to pick out a snack, that would last a while, and not be too bad for me. I grabbed tootsie roll pops.

When I brought them to the cart I told Hubby, “You know it drives me crazy, raspberry is my favorite and I swear they put half as many raspberries as any other flavor in the bag.” Hubby completely agreed and started telling me how his Dad used to buy him and his brother the little 7 packs of Tootsie Roll Pops that they packaged almost like a bunch of balloons. He said they each got one of each flavor (cherry, chocolate, and grape) and then there was always the one raspberry that was fought over. (If I was his Dad, I would have just taken that one for myself!)

Yesterday afternoon I found myself craving something sweet so I padded into the kitchen to grab my first tootsie roll pop in years, naturally the raspberry. Curiosity got the best of me, and I then turned to google to try and figure out why there were less raspberry than any other flavor.

Well, let me tell you what I didn’t find, the answer. I found pages and pages of legitimate scientific research on how many licks it takes to get to the center of the tootsie pop. Which, if you’re wondering, seems to quite honestly vary from 250-3,000.  Trying different search terms I found entire forums of people discussing their favorite flavor, and I was honestly probably four pages in before anyone mentioned raspberry! Let that sink in, four pages in.

Last night when my hubby got home I relayed my findings to him. I was shocked. I had genuinely been expecting to find that raspberry’s flavor was the result of mixing the leftover grape/cherry flavors (or something in that vain). I had expected to find out that the dyes in the raspberry flavor cost more. Nothing, nada, zilch; not a word as to why they don’t manufacturer the same volume of raspberry pops.

Being the clever fox my hubby is, he said, “Well maybe the fact that it took you four pages to find anyone else that considers it their favorite is your answer. No one else likes it.” Exasperated, and a bit hurt, I whined, “Then why even bother  making it at all!” Hubby just shrugged and said, “Who knows, maybe it was the original owner’s favorite too.”

In the words of that mean, candy stealing owl, who used to grace the tootsie pop commercial with his presence, “The world may never know.” I just wanted to let those other lovers of the raspberry tootsie pop out there know that they are not alone. You aren’t the first to question the unfairness of flavor distribution. You’re not the only one who loves raspberry. I hope this post will bring you comfort on those long nights of wondering.

One thought on “The Great Tootsie Pop Mystery

  1. Pingback: July Round-up | The Coffee Darling

Leave a Reply

